Intermediate Phase

School Phases Intermediate Phase

The Intermediate phase consists of classes from Grades 4 to 6, with a maximum of 15 learners per class.
Class groups include:

  • One Afrikaans class per grade (Grades 4 to 6)
  • One English class per grade (Grades 4 to 6)


In the Intermediate Phase

  • Learners follow Paarl School’s value system to guide them in the process of maturity and excellence
  • Learners receive structural assistance to accommodate ADHD and other serious attention distractors
  • Learners have access to electronic learning content for study purposes
  • Assessment accommodations, including reader, writer and prompter, are provided to support learners with barriers during formal assessment
  • Individual computers are supplied to learners with physical challenges and motor co-ordination difficulties, for written tasks
  • Learners have access to an equipped assessment accommodations computer room where they can listen to their work and can record answers to questionnaires and/or assessment papers with the help of voice-to-text and text-to-voice software
  • The foundation on which the Intermediate Phase builds is based on positive reinforcement by expanding a learner’s self-esteem; therefore, this phase follows a holistic approach through support to empower the learn